Jordan Spieth and Henrik Stenson handily hit into bunker on adjacent tee shots, finish regulation tied for lead

Jordan Spieth and Henrik Stenson were penalized a total of two shots at the BMW Championship on Wednesday in Chicago, following bizarre events during the 1st round.

It started when Spieth, who will be defending his championship later this week, discovered his tee shot had landed on the wrong hole. He was given a penalty on the 11th hole and the next tee shot was from the tenth hole. Then, in the next hole, Henrik Stenson’s club struck his ball and collected at some adjacent greenside bunker. He was given a penalty on the second hole.

Check out the replay here, where you can hear Stenson talking with a Rules official after the incident.

“I am 100% sure that this is where it landed”: Golfers Henrik Stenson and Jordan Spieth discuss their bizarre 2-shot penalty on the 8th hole of the BMW Championship. #BMWChampionship — PGA TOUR (@PGATOUR) October 10, 2018

Now, with both players three shots behind the leader, Rory McIlroy, with six holes remaining in the tournament, it looks like these men might need another miracle round to win it all.

Leave a Comment